Posted by: BART Station Bard | July 25, 2012

Change The World

Back in 2010, Gaia asked me to do something for her. It’s worked out really well for me, and yesterday I realized it was time to pass it on. It’s a very simple practice, but one that has deepened with time for me. I find I can do it anywhere, any time it occurs to me.

All she asked of me was to notice her beauty, where she is healthy and growing.

What we pay attention to grows. As Marcus Aurelius said, “Such as are your habitual thoughts; such also will be the character of your mind; for the soul is dyed by the color of your thoughts.”

As a culture, I think we focus far too much on what is wrong. I think we are in the mess we’re in because of this. In particular, we’ve been focusing on the end of the world, until it looks as if the world will end.

I have to admit, I love me my dystopian fiction and movies. The Road Warrior, Dies The Fire, The Hunger Games, etc. But I also love Star Trek, The Fifth Sacred Thing and Ecotopia. What I love about them, is that we humans are being called on to be our best selves. In a crappy situation, we’re stepping up to the plate and doing heroic things. We’re making the world a better place in the process.

My Gaia practice is a quiet way of doing that. I see the urban forest, not the concrete jungle. I see the bees in the lavender instead of the garbage on the sidewalk. How many bees there are in summer in the city if I just look for them! There are flowers everywhere, even in my “blighted” neighborhood. The bees are working hard in them, creating food, harvesting sunlight. The birds are there too, everywhere if I just look. And the trees. The more I look for them, the more I see. The more I listen, the more the world talks to me, and the more strength and inspiration I am given.

If you choose to do this practice, I’d love to hear about your experiences, and how it changes you, and the practice. Make it your own, pass it on. Together, we will change the world.

Responses

  1. I am a lot like you. I actually see Nature all around me. I look at the flowers to see the differences in each one. I watch nature as if it is in slow motion. I watch the trees move. I pay attention to how the leaves are shaped and I see how the branches have grown. I listen to see what I can hear. I watch the wind blow the leaves and the grass and whatever else is around at that time. I love how nature keep up the good fight with how our ozone is changing. It helps me calm myself and makes me feel one with my higher power. It rejuvenates me and energizes my aura like an energizer bunny. I look for beauty all around us. I just wish all would slow down enough to watch the stars or the clouds etc…life is too short. time to stop and smell the roses and see the movies nature makes for us everyday. This I have always enjoyed since my childhood. It has intensified since I have become pagan/wiccan. I follow the harm none and i see people all the time abusing nature when it is our very being…everything around us is alive if the would just see. lol sorry for the long reply…i get going and cant stop. thank you for this blog, i found it inspiring.

    Like

  2. How beautiful. If you slow down and look, and I slow down, and we talk about our experiences to others, others will too. It’s slow, but it’s the only way I know to grow awareness. Be the change we wish to see. And we’re not the only ones. The Transcendentalist movement in the 19th century did the same, and those authors are still read.

    The techniques I use that have really made my practices take off are mainly Pagan and Druidic and Buddhist, though I am Unitarian, born and raised. And hearing what others do helps me refine them. Thanks for sharing a bit of what you do.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

Astro Butterfly

Astrology insights to help you uncover your soul's mission in this life

Tinkinswood Archaeology

NEOLITHIC WALES | Y NEOLITHIG YNG NGHYMRU

blank on one side

random musings by Alder Burns

Indivisible East Bay

An Indivisible group based in San Francisco's East Bay

Crown of Stars

We are Infinite

A Druids Journey

Musings of a modern druid as he walks the path

in parentheses

new modernism

The Hopeless Vendetta

News for the residents of Hopeless, Maine.

Paths I Walk

By Paula Cas

Paul Newman Music

Sheffield Musician - Singer & Guitarist

Love of Life

The land speaks to all of us.

Crooked Bear Creek Organic Herbs

Since 2014, Crooked Bear Creek Organic Herbs Has Become The Forefront In Herbal Knowledge.

Dancing Hare

Music in the pagan and druid path

DRUID WAYS

Celtic Shamanism, Meditation & Counselling

The Druid's Garden

Spiritual Journeys in Tending the Land, Permaculture, Wildcrafting, and Regenerative Living

