Posted by: BART Station Bard | August 9, 2012

On My Way

Best moment of the day: the Pagan woman who hung around all the way through me singing King Henry and then came up to me to flash her pentagram. And we had a great talk about mythology. That was the kind of thing that happened a lot at Faire, and I have really missed it.

It is actually possible for me to do this. The Universe will provide, provided I put in the time. I played for about an hour at Berkeley BART and I made $11.50. I figure to get to Ireland and back, stay in hostels or campgrounds, hitting the places I need to, take the sail/rail to England and back to Ireland, and maybe squeeze in a few extras, I’ll need about $5000. If I can consistently make $10/hour, that’s about 500 hours of singing.

I’m planning on Tuesdays for busking and open mike at this point, and I don’t plan on only doing an hour a day. Today I did stupid things because it’s been so long since I’ve been on the street. I know better than to try and sing above ambient noise–school groups and trains, in particular. I stopped when my throat started to warn me and my arm and neck started to flare up. Knowing when to stop is a big part of this. I’m fine today, and able to go out again. Ignoring those signals last summer cost me my job. I was able to compensate a bit yesterday by alternating straight a capella with drum and voice, and I was still getting tipped. When I got home, I lay down, put my busking playlist on iTunes and learned/remembered I knew new material.

Worst case, if I played only an hour a day on Mondays and Tuesdays, that would be 100 hours a year right there. That makes it doable in a little over two years. Other opportunities will also present themselves and probably cut that time. Adding a CD to the busking will certainly help, and I’ll do so as soon as I’ve gotten enough material together. Plus I have the internet, a resource that wasn’t available to me before. If you didn’t get a tape from me at a Faire, you never heard of me. I remember finding out that one of my fans had left a copy of my tape in Ireland. I was ecstastic to even think of my music having gotten that far!

So I’m $11.50 up, $4988.50 to go.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Astro Butterfly

Astrology insights to help you uncover your soul's mission in this life

Tinkinswood Archaeology

NEOLITHIC WALES | Y NEOLITHIG YNG NGHYMRU

blank on one side

random musings by Alder Burns

Indivisible East Bay

An Indivisible group based in San Francisco's East Bay

Crown of Stars

We are Infinite

A Druids Journey

Musings of a modern druid as he walks the path

in parentheses

new modernism

The Hopeless Vendetta

News for the residents of Hopeless, Maine.

Paths I Walk

By Paula Cas

Paul Newman Music

Sheffield Musician - Singer & Guitarist

Love of Life

The land speaks to all of us.

Crooked Bear Creek Organic Herbs

Since 2014, Crooked Bear Creek Organic Herbs Has Become The Forefront In Herbal Knowledge.

Dancing Hare

Music in the pagan and druid path

DRUID WAYS

Celtic Shamanism, Meditation & Counselling

The Druid's Garden

Spiritual Journeys in Tending the Land, Permaculture, Wildcrafting, and Regenerative Living

