Posted by: BART Station Bard | September 10, 2012

Sweet Spot

My favorite spot has temporary mood lighting. It’s been hired by Virgin Air and plastered with advertising that is primarily black and dark purple. The ceiling has been painted black and half the light shades have been changed from white to purple. I have a sexy black-clad woman with a bow and arrow to stand next to. It kind of rocks, actually.

I love this spot anyway because it’s long and narrow and has great acoustics as well as a fair amount of foot traffic. I can fill it without trying, and people have plenty of time to listen before they get to me, as well as plenty of places to stop just out of my direct sight and listen. For some reason, a lot of people seem to do that.

I thought it was going to be another bad day. My throat was full of crap and I sounded terrible. No one was taking the slightest notice of me. But I figured, hey, I really need the practice if I sound like this, and if no one was noticing anyway, I could screw up all I liked, right? So I worked the easy songs first, the ones that almost always sound good. Follow Me Up to Carlow, As I Roved Out, that sort of thing. After 45 minutes or so, I started getting tipped.

By the time I ran out of water, I didn’t really want to stop any more. And I passed another hurdle. I’m finally getting back into this enough to play for more than an hour and not have a sore throat and a headache. I’m beginning to feel what and where I’m tightening up and figuring out how to correct it.

Putting in the work is the secret to doing what you love, right? Stay with it till it stops being frustrating and starts being fun. I remember what this felt like before. I’m beginning to disappear into the song again, to let it speak through me. When I fill, so does the hat.

Busking total: $20.80. $4,920.95 to go!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Astro Butterfly

Astrology insights to help you uncover your soul's mission in this life

Tinkinswood Archaeology

NEOLITHIC WALES | Y NEOLITHIG YNG NGHYMRU

blank on one side

random musings by Alder Burns

Indivisible East Bay

An Indivisible group based in San Francisco's East Bay

Crown of Stars

We are Infinite

A Druids Journey

Musings of a modern druid as he walks the path

in parentheses

new modernism

The Hopeless Vendetta

News for the residents of Hopeless, Maine.

Paths I Walk

By Paula Cas

Paul Newman Music

Sheffield Musician - Singer & Guitarist

Love of Life

The land speaks to all of us.

Crooked Bear Creek Organic Herbs

Since 2014, Crooked Bear Creek Organic Herbs Has Become The Forefront In Herbal Knowledge.

Dancing Hare

Music in the pagan and druid path

DRUID WAYS

Celtic Shamanism, Meditation & Counselling

The Druid's Garden

Spiritual Journeys in Tending the Land, Permaculture, Wildcrafting, and Regenerative Living

