Posted by: BART Station Bard | October 7, 2012

The Best Problem To Have

What is your dream? What would you do if suddenly, it was placed in your hands? I really want to know, because that’s what just happened to me. I really want you to think about these questions, because I’ve done so so often in the past, and perhaps the simple act of doing that opens space for it to happen–and I would love to see your dreams come true too.

What would the world look like if everyone was living their dreams? It would certainly be a different place–but how so? What would disappear? What would appear? Maybe if we share our stories with each other, we’ll build something larger than we can envision right now, as those questions hang in the air between us.

I am going to Ireland. Not two years from now, but this summer. I had a $4000 check dropped in my bowl last week. The first thing I had to ask myself was, ‘is this cheating?’ I didn’t earn it, after all. I soon realized, as I thought about it, that if I hadn’t earned it when it happened, I was sure going to. With the major obstacles removed, a dream becomes a responsibility, something that has to be lived up to. All those things I’d thought were so far in the future are happening now. Instead of two years to plan and accomplish, I have mere months.
 
What a *wonderful* problem to have!
 
Once I’d opened that envelope I couldn’t think clearly enough to give a good performance any more. I wasn’t getting tipped, and I didn’t deserve to be, frankly. So I packed up my gear and went around the corner to my credit union and used that check to open a new savings account. Might as well start with what passed for a responsible act, I thought. Then I went back to the BART station and played till I ran out of water.
 
Everything is happening faster. I took another look at my album songlists and realized that with all that BART station practice, I’m much closer to recording at least one of them than I thought. I don’t want to leave on this trip till that’s done. I also have to earn that last $871.00. An album will do that a lot quicker than the BART station will–and will allow me to submit my music to places that won’t take a single track seriously.
 
Then there are the mechanics. Where, when, how, what to pack, who to visit, etc. The coffee table is strewn with travel guides and maps. The library is quite accommodating when it comes to such things. If you live near Dublin, or the Isle of Skye, or have heard of Swinton Castle, I would love to hear from you. If you’ve been to an OBOD Summer camp, what was it like? These questions are just the beginning, believe me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

hecatedemeter

Undermining the Patriarchy Every Chance I Get. And I Get a Lot of Chances (Copyright Preserved)

The Weekly Druid

Comentary from the Grove

Astro Butterfly

Astrology insights to help you uncover your soul's mission in this life

Tinkinswood Archaeology

NEOLITHIC WALES | Y NEOLITHIG YNG NGHYMRU

blank on one side

random musings by Alder Burns

Indivisible East Bay

An Indivisible group based in San Francisco's East Bay

Crown of Stars

We are Infinite

A Druids Journey

Musings of a modern druid as he walks the path

in parentheses

new modernism

The Hopeless Vendetta

News for the residents of Hopeless, Maine.

Paths I Walk

By Paula Cas

Paul Newman Music

Sheffield Musician - Singer & Guitarist

Love of Life

The land speaks to all of us.

Crooked Bear Creek Organic Herbs

Since 2014, Crooked Bear Creek Organic Herbs Has Become The Forefront In Herbal Knowledge.

Dancing Hare

Music in the pagan and druid path

DRUID WAYS

Celtic Shamanism, Meditation & Counselling

anita dawes and jaye marie

words, glorious words...

